Upon entry at Heathfield each girl is placed in a House. Siblings will automatically join the same House.

There are four vertical Houses named after inspirational women from different fields of expertise, namely Austen, de Valois, Seacole and Somerville. Each House, headed by a Head of House and assisted by two House Captains from LVI, has its own identity and is in charge of six weekends throughout the academic year. Each girl wears a distinctive House badge and a House shirt when competing in interhouse events. These events and competitions span the whole spectrum of sporting, creative and academic fields from Poetry Declamation to Tennis, House Music and Drama to Debating and Mathematics competitions. The Inter-house competitions span a huge range of activities, ensuring all girls have an opportunity to compete for their House. At the end of each term the results are compiled and the House with the highest number of points is awarded the much coveted House Shield as well as a special outing.

The House system is designed to encourage a healthy competitive spirit as well as a sense of belonging to a caring and supportive group.

Austen House

Jane Austen (16 December 1775 – 18 July 1817) was an English novelist known primarily for her six major novels, which interpret, critique and comment upon the British landed gentry at the end of the 18th century.

de Valois House

Dame Ninette de Valois OM CH DBE (born Edris Stannus; 6 June 1898 – 8 March 2001) was an Irish-born British dancer, teacher, choreographer, and director of classical ballet.

Seacole House

Mary Jane Seacole (née Grant; 1805 – 14 May 1881) was a British-Jamaican business woman and nurse who set up the “British Hotel” behind the lines during the Crimean War.

Somerville House

Mary Somerville (née Fairfax, formerly Greig; 26 December 1780 – 29 November 1872), was a Scottish science writer and polymath.